Join our email list!

Lapidary

Lapidary refers to the cutting, shaping and polishing of precious stones. In our Lapidary classes we are cutting cabochons for jewelry or belt buckle making. Schack's studio has a Lortone trim saw, stainless, 6" arbors and a polishing wheel for all your cabochon making needs.

Lapidary I

Student will learn techniques to shape a slab of stone into a cabochon suitable for use in jewelry or other art work (hardness no greater than 7).

Dates & Times

#1: Jul 13 & Jul 14, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#2: Sep 14 & Sep 15, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#3: Oct 12 & Oct 13, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#4: Nov 16 & Nov 17, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#5: Dec 7 & Dec 8, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

Lapidary II

Pre-requisite: beginning class or instructor approval. This class will cover techniques for stones hardness 7 and greater. Free form shaping.

Dates & Times

#1: Jun 29 & Jun 30, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#2: Jul 27 & Jul 28, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#3: Sep 28 & Sep 29, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#4: Oct 19 & Oct 20, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#5: Nov 23 & Nov 24, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio

#6: Dec 14 & Dec 15, Saturday & Sunday 1-4 pm
Ages: Ages 18 & up
Instructor: Art Cass
Location: Schack Art Center, Lapidary Studio