Join our email list!

Scholastic Art Awards

Important Dates for the 2020 Regional Awards:

Scholastic Art Teacher Meeting: October 15, 3:30-4:30pm, Schack Art Center

Art Portfolio Review & Consultation for Students: October 15, 4:30-6:30pm, Schack Art Center. This is a great opportunity for students to improve their portfolios in preparation for the Scholastic Art Portfolio Awards and college scholarship consideration!

Submission Deadline: January 8, 6pm (keep scrolling for submission forms and information)

Regional Scholastic Art Portfolio Exhibit: January 29 - February 23, Emerging Young Artists' Gallery, Schack Art Center

Regional Scholastic Individual Entries Exhibit: February 3 - 23, Mezzanine Gallery, Schack Art Center

Regional Scholastic Art Awards Opening Reception: February 4, 5-9pm, Schack Art Center

Regional Scholastic Art Awards Ceremony: February 4, 6:30pm, Historic Everett Theatre

About the 2020 Regional Scholastic Art Awards

Schack Art Center first presented the Scholastic Art Awards in January 1996, spearheaded as a grassroots effort by educator and artist, Susan Jane Russell and a handful of Snohomish County Teachers. In the twenty-two years since then, student entries have more than quadrupled and the regional awards have brought thousands of our community's young artist's local and national recognition. Participation in this program continues to provide a powerful tool for building community, advocating art education, and fostering the creativity of emerging talents.

Student artists have few opportunities for public recognition. However, through this event, the works of Snohomish County middle and high school youth are presented to a broad audience in a professional gallery exhibit complete with a public "Meet the Artists" reception and awards ceremony.

Regional Scholastic Sponsors

City of Everett Cultural Arts Commission
H'Arts Patrons
Wells Fargo

About the National Scholastic Art & Writing Awards

Last year, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, the nation's longest-running (since 1923) and most prestigious recognition program for creative teens in grades 7-12, received a record-breaking 330,000 works of art and writing for adjudication from regional affiliates, including the Schack Art Center in Everett.

This program gives thousands of students throughout America the opportunity to broaden their creative horizons while earning local and national recognition. The objective is to foster the confidence of young artists and give them the opportunity to be recognized for their creative achievements by the world at large. The Alliance also partners with art institutes, colleges, and universities to earmark scholarships for college-bound Scholastic Awards recipients.

Submission Deadline: January 8, 2020

For complete submission information and guidelines for the Snohomish County Art Region please visit our affiliate web page:

In addition to the regional guidelines listed on this page, look under the "WHAT WE DO" and "SCHOLARSHIPS" tab on the upper navigation menu to find valuable links for "How to Enter", "Copyright & Plagiarism", "Scholarships and Prizes" and "Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)".

We also recommend visiting to browse the National information about the Awards, Recognition, and Exhibitions.

FOR TEACHERS: Look in the right column under "Downloads" to locate copies of the documents that were sent in your Scholastic packet, as well as the following helpful informational documents: "How to Photograph Your Artwork", "Smart Cropping", "Image Requirements", "Copyright and Plagiarism Guide", and "2D/3D Exhibit Ready Instructions".

You will need to have all paperwork (Teacher Inventory Sheet, signed student entry forms and payment) to the Schack by 6pm on January 8. There will be NO exceptions as judging will commence the next day. You can either bring the paperwork to the Schack on January 8 between 2-6pm OR mail it in advance making certain it arrives by 6pm that day.

Documents mailed to participating teachers in October 2019:

Additional documents with useful information for submitting student work:

Other Years’ Contest Winners